The Rossettis : Radical Romantics / Tate Britain exhibition

The Pre-Raphaelites: some adore their intensity of emotion whilst others have described a visceral dislike of these artists and their works.

I personally find them and their work captivating. Therefore, when I heard about this new exhibition at Tate Britain I couldn’t wait to go and see it for myself. The Rossettis were passionate personalities who fearlessly challenged the social and moral norms of the Victorian establishment. By pen and paintbrush they created powerful works of art which expressed lived and imagined experiences, seeking the true meaning of beauty and love.

By refusing to adhere to the artistic norms of their time and embracing sensuality through art, the Pre-Raphaelites have been described as ushering in the swinging 60s of the Victorian era. Hiding behind the façade of Medieval revivalism, their poems and paintings tackled daring and controversial subject matter for their time, including poverty, emigration, and the many layers of double standard within society. Their work shocked many and still continues to do so today.

I’ve been unwittingly singing their words since I was very young. Silent Noon, In the Bleak Midwinter: these are the words of Dante Gabriel Rossetti and his sister, Christina, respectively. More recently, I was lucky enough to play the role of Laura in a CUOS shorts opera composed by Sam Gray based on Christina Rossetti’s famous poem ‘The Goblin Market’ that we performed for two consecutive nights in Trinity College Chapel. Coincidently, the poem itself was originally published in London and Cambridge by Macmillan & Co. in 1865. For that time, I got the opportunity to step inside and inhabit the world of the the Rossettis – it’s a world that’s both enchanting and sinister in equal measure.

If you get the chance, I’d highly recommended going to see this landmark exhibition for yourself. It’s on at Tate Britain until 24th September 2023 and is marvellous.

If you are able to, I’d very much appreciate a donation of any size to support my blog and research: https://www.paypal.me/KatieMarshall8

Published by katiechronicles1

Young historian and Classical Soprano Twitter: @katiehistory @katiemarshall__

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started